Skip to content

What are you doing!!??

by on May 26, 2010

Someone asked me recently, ‘Why are you doing what you’re doing? Why aren’t you heading for a comfortable job in a big white church somewhere, like so many others?’

It took me a minute to know how to answer (always been slow on my feet!). What do you say to that sort of question?

For one thing, I think it’s a bit harsh on ‘the others’. Most guys probably don’t long for that sort of job, it’s just that those are the churches hiring staff! Guys at college go through a long system starting back at MTS, and though they may not realise it at first, that nice white church is where it’s all been heading. Until recently, they haven’t had many options in the Sydney system. Now things are freeing up, which is great, but someone’s got to be the first to try out that freedom. I’m sure others will follow before long. (For more on the exciting opportunities that have opened up in Sydney, see our Vision Statement, points 1-3)

I didn’t say this to the guy. What I said was something like, ‘Well, I look at those other suburbs, they’ve got churches and leaders and lots of keen Christians, and then I look at the Canterbury region, it’s got next to nothing, tiny struggling churches, hardly anyone to bring them the gospel. Where should I go? It’s a bit of a no-brainer really.’

I don’t think it’s just me that feels like this. I know about seven guys in my year at college who would love to find a way to do cross-cultural mission in the George’s River region. And more in other year-groups.

If you were me, where would you go?

From → General

2 Comments
  1. “If you were me, where would you go?”

    I would go where the need is greatest, and either work to rebuild a struggling church, or plant a new church where there are few churches to serve the area.

    Either is a viable option, but for me personally, a struggling church in a struggling area is where God calls me.

    • I guessed you were going to say that after I saw your name!

      I agree that they are both good options, depending on the situation. Thanks for sharing your views with us!

Leave a Reply

