Skip to content

Meet the Team – 7

by on December 9, 2010

Our great pleasure to introduce Jon, our newest team member. Let’s get the lowdown.

Tell us about yourself, Jon. Where are you from?

Hi, I’m Jon. About me – I’m a little bit new to Sydney, I grew up on a sheep and cattle property just south of Gundagai. Thanks to faithful and wonderful parents I heard of God’s grace and grew up as a Christian. After high school I studied Agriculture at Charles Sturt Uni in Wagga with the intentions of heading back to the farm.

How did you end up involved in mission in Canterbury, Sydney?

At Uni I came to recognize more of the significance of Jesus Christ and since then did some ministry training on campus and am now studying at Moore College in Newtown.

 

What do you think of the inner city?

I love Newtown. I love trendy King st with cheap Thai and good coffee. And I love college, the friends, the challenges and the walk with God. I have been a student minister at St Matthias Anglican for the last two years, this has been a great experience, but I am now excited and looking forward to joining the church plant in Canterbury. I heard heaps about what was happening through my girlfriend Nicole, and it all sounded like a great opportunity to be a part of.

Apart from the, ah, personnel, what’s attracted you to the Canterbury plant?

It’s exciting to see this new work happening in Canterbury, and it will be a new challenge to me in many ways. Most of all I’m looking forward to meeting people in Canterbury and sharing our lives and the gospel with them. I am excited to see what God is going to do as this team of people commit to praying and working for the Kingdom in this area.

Great to have you with us Jon, love the photo. We think you’ll be an asset to the team.

From → General

One Comment
  1. Chris permalink

    I know Jon! He’s a top bloke!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

