Skip to content

Meet the Team – 11

by on February 20, 2012

It’s my great pleasure to introduce to you our newest team member, Veronica. Veron comes to us fresh from a short term mission in East Asia, where she brushed up on her Mandarin.

Tell us about yourself Veron. Where were you born?

Despite my Aussie accent English is actually my second language! I was born in Hong Kong and came when I was quite young.

So what is your first language? .

My parents never spoke to me in English so I can say that my Cantonese can be regarded as ‘fluent’. I’m also working on my Mandarin (I’ll get there!).

What do you do for work?
.
I’m trained as an occupational therapist and am currently looking for a job.
.
What do you do for fun?
.
I love music…I love to sing and play piano and compose (when I have the head space for it).  I love to watch sitcoms – e.g. currently ‘The Big Bang Theory’. I love watching tennis- my fav players are Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Kim Clijsters… (note *watching*). Others: Boardgames, play with kittens, facebook (arghhh it’s evil). I would love to have more physically active pastimes but my inability to coordinate my body and limbs in space prohibits me from doing so!
.
When did you come to know Christ?
.
I come from a pre- Christian family! My mum, sister and I were previously Catholic, but I came to have a personal faith in Jesus in Year 12. God reminds me not to give up on them!
.
Pre-Christian – I like that!
So what attracted you to Canterbury?
.
Last year I was working at Canterbury Hospital so I was interested in what kind of mission was happening in the local area. I met Christian at a Bible storytelling workshop and found out about Canterbury Community Church. After visiting a bit last year, I found that I was able to connect with some neighbours in Canterbury, even though I didn’t live or church in the area! Imagine if I did go to the church…how many more possibilities!
.
It sure sounded exciting but it also seemed very intense (particularly since I can be a mega introvert sometimes) which scared me a lot. But I was convicted that I should not be complacent, as I had felt in the last year. I wanted to get out of my comfort zone, particularly if I was ever to think of serving overseas.
.
Sounds like you have a real heart for mission, Veronica. You’ve come to the right place! Great to have you with us here in Canterbury. Keep up the Mandarin!

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

