Skip to content

Prayers of confession

by on January 27, 2013

I’ve had a few people requesting that we introduce some more liturgy in our gathering, specifically a prayer of confession. This is a very Anglican thing – in my experience other protestants don’t often do this. But I think it’s a good thing.

However I don’t like the prayers in the modern prayer books: they lack teeth. ‘We haven’t done what we should have’ etc is a bit weak and watery.

Also they tend to talk as though we are all rank unbelievers who spent the entire week conspiring with Satan to topple God’s kingdom. This is not always where our people are at. (!)

So I’ve been trying to write some for us to use. It’s not easy! Has to be nice to say, the 100th time you say it.

I’ve got two alternative attempts. I’m thinking we’ll use them both. But I’d love to improve them. Let me know what you think.

Here’s no.1. No. 2 tomorrow.

Holy Father,
You sent your son to us
So that we might die to sin
and live to God in Christ Jesus.
Sin no longer rules us,
yet we foolishly follow its desires.
We judge others harshly.
Our bitter and evil thoughts
grieve your Holy Spirit.
We close our hearts to the needy
and cling to what we have.
Freely we have received,
yet we do not freely give.
Father, have mercy on us.
Forgive us our sins
And renew us by your Spirit
to walk humbly, in love.
May Christ be formed in us
so that we his church may display
his goodness.
Amen.

From → General

4 Comments
  1. Stacey permalink

    Absolutely loving this first one Jonathan! Nice work brother. My only “two cents” is after reading the last line, “that we his church may display his goodness….” I asked the question, ‘Where?’ Where should we display his goodness? Maybe you could add something like, “that we his church may display his goodness… to the world/ to those we meet/ on all the paths that we are led etc. I think you get the idea. But like I said, just a thought and was what popped in my mind after reading it. Hope that helps 🙂

  2. Thanks for the helpful feedback Stacey!

  3. Jacqueline Lee permalink

    Inspired

  4. carla permalink

    I think it is wonderful and what we all need. Thank you for sharing this i will print it out and keep it in my bible.

Leave a Reply

