Skip to content

He came!

by on August 17, 2013

FThe Age Picture by Wayne Taylor13th January 2013Tennis. Australian Open tennis practice sessions today. Wu Di the first Chinese man to play a Grand Slam.ollowing Honoria’s excellent advice on fb, after my last article, I decided to get bold with my Mandarin-speaking neighbour. One of the ones who never come when we invite them.

We were having a local blokes’ night last night. I’d invited him by email. Group email. I’d sent a reminder. Still no response.

So yesterday I rang him, and told him I was hoping he’d come. He had made other plans! But he said he’d come late.

“Great, I’ll see you there” I said. The new bold me. Trusting Honoria…

At 9 pm when he hadn’t showed, I started doubting Honoria’s wisdom. It hadn’t worked, this persistent-inviting-Asians thing.

Then he turned up! Thankfully we had heaps of pizza left over.

We were about to play a game of Ticket to Ride. Would he like to play? ‘Oh no, no, thanks, he’d just watch.’

‘No, come on Terry, we want you to play! You sit there.’

He sat.

An hour and a half later, after learning and playing and beating me at Ticket to Ride, he said. ‘I LOVE this game. Where can I find it?’

He made a couple of new friends amongst blokes from the neighbourhood. Went home looking happy.

A good night was had by all.

Ok, maybe I’ve learned something.

Thanks Honoria!

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

