Skip to content

So happy about the Creed

by on May 5, 2014

So I walk into the church building for our gathering yesterday, and there is one of our ESL students. From the beginners’ class! Brazilian. = Portugese speaker. Little English. With her Aussie granddaughter. Crikey! How’s she going to cope here, over the next hour?

I’m preaching on 1 Corinthians 5, and it’s not easy or simple, that passage. Actually I’m hopeful most of the meeting should be ok for her, but what about my 20 minute monologue at the end? How is she going to feel during that?

So I’m sweating bullets the whole time I’m preaching, trying to think, how can I make this simpler and clearer for this ESL beginner? And of course it’s hopeless.

Then afterwards she comes up to me, beaming: ‘I’m very, very, very, very happy!’   Could have knocked me down with a feather. Why is she happy? She points to the back of our folder. ‘The Creed. I know this!’

Forget my sermon. Thank God for the Creed! It helped her feel connected and a part of things.

By the way, here is the plain English version we say:

We believe in God the Father almighty,
Maker of heaven and earth.
We believe in Jesus Christ his only Son, our Lord
Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, 
Born of the virgin Mary,
He suffered under Pontius Pilate, 
Was crucified, dead and buried.
He went down to the grave.
On the third day he rose from the dead,
He went up into heaven, 
And sits at the right hand of the Father almighty.
From there he will come to judge the living and the dead.
We believe in the Holy Spirit,
The holy universal church,
The communion of saints,
Release from sins,
Resurrection of the body,
And life eternal
 
Amen.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

